The Oresteia: Agamemnon, The Libation Bearers, and The Eumenides, by Aeschylus

Translated from the Greek by E. D. A. Morshead. Introduction by Rex Warner. Illustrated by Michael Ayrton. 

Easton Press edition from their 100 Greatest Books Ever Written Series. 

Hardcover bound in full dark-hunter-green leather with raised bands on spine, 22kt gold gilt titles and handsome gilt decorations on boards and spine, moire silk endpapers with a matching silk ribbon placeholder bound in.

Very Good / Near Fine Condition. 



“The Oresteia” is Aeschylus most famous work, a trilogy of dramas that includes “Agamemnon,” “The Libation Bearers,” and “The Eumenides.” In the first work of the trilogy, Agamemnon, King of Argos, is returning home from the Trojan War. Clytemnestra, his wife, awaits his return by planning his murder. She is angry for the murder of their first born daughter, Iphigenia, which Agamemnon has sacrificed in order to appease the goddess Artemis. The second drama, “The Libation Bearers,” is concerned with the revenge by Agamemnon’s children, Electra and Orestes, against Clytemnestra, for the murder of their father. The final play in the trilogy, “The Eumenides,” details the trial of Orestes for the murder of his mother. This collection of dramas brilliantly deals with the themes of revenge and justice and stands to this day as one of the most important collection of works from classical antiquity.

The Oresteia: Agamemnon, The Libation Bearers, and The Eumenides, by Aeschylus

SKU: 23-057


    79 Main Street

    Concord, MA 01742

    Tel: 978-369-6084

    Mon. - Sat. 9:30 - 5

    Sunday      12 - 4

    Sign up for our newsletter

    • Facebook

    © 2020 by Barrow Bookstore